Dear Member,

Spring is here! …And so is the parvovirus. If you have not already seen a sudden rise in your clinics, please be aware of the current increase in the area. Be diligent with your decontamination and isolation procedures to limit further spread, and please remind your clients to vaccinate effectively.

I hope everyone has been enjoying our 2017 CE series. We have several more meetings still to go including 17 hours of combined CE! You should be looking forward to our next meeting May 7th from 8:30AM to 4PM with Dr. Sue Ettinger, an oncologist from New York and our lunch time speaker, Dr. Amy Grob-Miller a cytologist from Dallas. We would like to thank our sponsors for this talk; Abaxis, Antech, and Specialty Veterinary Pharmacy. Registration for this talk is now open online and will close May 2nd.

We are very excited to be holding another social day this year with a new location at Karbach Brewery! Dr. Bill Liska will be speaking on July 8th with a fun topic entitled, “Iditarod Sled Dogs in Alaska do not have hip problems. Our Patients do!” This event is hosted by Blue Pearl Veterinary Specialists of Houston. There will be food, free drink tickets, and raffle prizes! Registration online is required.

Please share the benefits of HCVMA membership with your colleagues and encourage them to join.  The HCVMA is only as good as our members, so feel free to share your thoughts and ideas with any of our board members on how we can improve membership benefits. Emails are the easiest and quickest way to communicate between newsletters. After you login you can update your information by clicking on the view/edit my info tab. If you need assistance with your log in or contact information please contact us!


Respectfully submitted,                       

Emily Gaugh, DVM, MPH                  

President HCVMA